An Illness

by Noise Pollution

I’m sick
and I feel something else
I feel something more
but it don’t matter to myself
I’m sick
and my stomach hates my guts
I’ll think about it later
right now it’s just bad luck

I like you like a black cat
on a full moon
You’re beautiful
like an open wound
and the broken glass shards shimmer
when I think about you
but my bitter heart says “stay away”
and I don’t know what to do

I’m ill
and I feel something else
I feel something more
I won’t admit it to myself
I’m ill
and my heart it hates me so
I’ll think about it later
maybe when I go.

I like you like a locked door
Or a walk-in tomb
You’re so beautiful
like my open wounds
and the broken glass shards shimmer
every time I say your name
it could be so perfect
but it wouldn’t be the same

And so I’ll do nothing
I won’t try
yeah, I’ll do nothing
and hope to die
I will cross my heart
needle in my eye
I will not give in
You will not be mine

I like you like a nova
Like a star in bloom
you’re so beautiful
like an open wound
and the broken glass shards shimmer
and the color never fades
and I look into the sky
and I know I cannot stay away.

A song about having feelings for someone, then denying those feelings because it’s easier to do than accept them and risk screwing things up.

It’s also got bits and pieces of what could be an actual love song buried in there, too.

