Blogging Tour

by Noise Pollution

Z, who keeps her blog over at I Prefer Deep Blues and Sea foam Greens asked me to give this a shot, so here goes.

What am I working on at the moment?

I’m trying to write at least thirty seconds of music every day right now. I normally play my guitar every day anyway, but forcing yourself to write something every day is an entirely different thing. It’s a whole new habit to get myself into. I need some healthy habits right now, though. This will hopefully help me get used to making them.

Oh, and as it relates to blogging, I’m totally posting the good stuff that comes out of this to the blog, in between my inane ramblings.

How does my work differ from others in it’s genre?

Ah, that’s a… question. I’ve never really thought about it before. I guess I would say that I write some intensely personal stuff, though that in and of itself isn’t all that unique. I think the thing that sets it apart is that I go into all of my writing pretty much blind. By reading my work, you’re reading exactly how my thoughts played out at the exact moment I wrote them, aside from some light edits for typos and grammar. For example, I have one post where I started writing, realized I was full of shit, then proceeded to write about how full of shit I was, without erasing the nonsense I had started with.

Why do I write what I do?

I have a number of reasons for writing what I do. For one, it is extremely nice to get feedback on my thoughts. It’s really hard to write in my own little bubble, and this blog helps me get out of that. Another reason I write this blog is because it is nice to have a public (yet unknown to my friends and family) place to put my aimless ramblings.

I also really hope to contribute to erasing the misconceptions about mental health. Having a “condition” doesn’t make you crazy, it’s just something that needs to be treated. I also hope to erase the “just get over it” mentality that most people without a mental or mood disorder seem to carry with them. It’s a horrible mentality, but most people don’t even understand why they’re wrong. I hope I can show them.

How does my writing process work?

My writing process is a really “spur of the moment” thing. I feel something, and I write it out, and (after some light editing for readability) quickly publish it. This allows even my stupid, uninformed thoughts to be exposed to other people. It sounds like a horrible thing to make yourself go through, but it’s really not so bad. It’s nice to have them out there, then I can try to understand them a little better. It’s a really fun way to write, and I learn a lot about myself in the process. Keeping this blog has become one of my favorite things to do thanks to this way of writing.

