I Wish It Wasn’t Summer (Scars)

by Noise Pollution

I’m wearing shorts today. It’s the first time I’ve done so in –literally– years.

The scarring from my fire accident is all on my legs. I don’t like having it exposed. It’s a constant reminder to myself that I am different. It’s also just kind of terrible having other people see them. I don’t want that. They’re horrible fucking scars.

Fortunately, between my socks and the shorts themselves, most of the scarring is still covered. Not all of it, but enough to avoid weird looks. I’m going to have to get used to this. My medication makes me over-sensitive to heat, and I can’t just go out in jeans when it’s this hot anymore. I’ve tried. the last time I did, I vomited and nearly passed out. I have to get used to this.

I have to get used to my seventeen-year-old scars.

