My Favorites Part V

by Noise Pollution

Here goes.

Betty can’t quit carving question marks in my wrist

How come we’re so alone

We waste away the days with nicotine and television samples

From an era we hate to admit we embrace.

Betty it’s so hard to relate

To the whole human race

I don’t know where to begin

I don’t know where to begin

If we can both find a way

To do the things that we say

We might not sit in our rooms

And drink our daydreams away

-The Future Freaks Me Out, Motion City Soundtrack

It’s so hard to relate to the whole human race, isn’t it? God damn, Motion City Soundtrack knows how to write a hook. I wish I was this good. This part is just this great little aside from the rest of the song, where he’s supposed to be talking to this girl about his issues and he starts to totally freak out and it’s amazing.

I thought I was strong

I was just bouncing along

Across and over my guitar

I thought I was strong

I was just bouncing along

Across and over my guitar

I ruined everything

And I blame myself

Because there’s no one else

For me to blame

I’ve got to start again

-Untitled, Weatherbox

This song is really relatable to me personally. I don’t know how much me explaining it is going to do any good, I think these lyrics really speak for themselves. I mean, I’ve had to start over (I guess most people have) and I feel like I’m the one responsible for all the bad things that happened. I feel like I ruined everything, and I was completely oblivious to my downward spiral; I just kept playing my guitar, not really seeing the world falling apart around me.

And my lungs

Will grow cancers

And my back it will grow achey

I will buy us an acre

Of some land in the city

We could live there together

or I’ll live alone less happy

But I’ll live… Unfortunately.

-Love In The Time Of Human Papillomavirus, Andrew Jackson Jihad

Andrew Jackson Jihad is fantastic. “We could live there together, or I’ll live alone less happy.” God, what a perfectly perfect line that is. I can’t believe I waited so long to buy the album this song is from. I’m actually legitimately upset with myself about it.

Oh Elise, it doesn’t matter what you do

I know I’ll never really get inside of you

to make your eyes catch fire

the way they should

The way the blue could pull me in

if they only would

if they only would

at least i’d lose this sense of sensing something else

that hides away

-A Letter to Elise, The Cure

Another great song by the cure. It’s this bittersweet love song, and I love those. Oh, Elise.

All the words

In my mouth

that the scene deemed

unworthy of letting out

banded together

to form a makeshift militia

and burrowed bloodily though my tongue and my teeth

And this girl

who I met

whose pride makes her hard

to forget

she took pity on me

horizontally

but most likely because of my band

-Woe, Say Anything

This band was my favorite band until I found The Front Bottoms, and songs like this are the reason why. It’s about being in his band, and yet it resonates with me so well. It’s about the scene, it’s about the bullshit that comes with it.It’s about criticism, it’s about the way everyone treats you when you’ve made it.

That’s it for this installment. Apologies for not going quite as in-depth this time, my writing has been suffering as of late due to a variety of reasons I’m not getting into at the moment.

