The “D” Word

by Noise Pollution

You know what? I don’t like it when people define themselves by their mental health diagnoses. I myself have at least one (it’s a bit of a confusing mess that is constantly in flux right now) and it has affected me greatly, but it’s not who I am. I am more than my diagnosis, and so are you.

Now, I’m not saying that can’t be the focus of your writing, or anything of the sort. That’s cool. It’s completely cool to have a theme, especially if that theme helps spread mental health awareness. It’s when in your everyday life, you define yourself as “depressed girl” or “eating disorder guy.” There’s so much more to you than your diagnosis. You’re also “person who always holds doors for people” and “talented artist.” You may think that your diagnosis is the thing that makes you unique, but it’s not. Everything else is. So remember to be everything else, too.

