Light

by Noise Pollution

It started with an episode of panic
turned into something so much more severe
I could be a ghost to half the planet
but then I wouldn’t get to call you dear

I searched for something underneathe the surface
but it was just under the surface of my skin
I cut off all the coverings to expose this
truth that I could only find within

and in the blood
there was a message
of hope
that I would stop this
and I saw somebody’s figure
in the light

It started with an episode of panic
turned into something so much more severe
I could be a ghost to half the planet
but then I wouldn’t get to be your dear

I searched for something underneathe the surface
but it was just under the surface of my skin
I rubbed off all the coverings to expose this
truth that I could only find within

and in the heat
there was a message
of hope
that I could fix this
and I saw something a whole lot
like myself
in the mirror
and in the light
there was a figure
I don’t believe in
and he turned
and walked away
from me

There’s a lot of things this song is about. Self-injury and recovery are the main themes, though.

