You Don’t Have To Love Yourself

by Noise Pollution

I don’t have to
love myself
and I don’t have to
like anyone else
and I don’t have to
see what you mean
I can always sit here
and hate everything

I don’t have to
get in the car
let you drive me
away from your heart
but I don’t have to
stay by your side
come on baby,
You and I know I’ve died

and I don’t owe you a god damn thing
and I don’t have to let you hear me sing
but here I am, so you can take it or leave
but if you leave you won’t mean anything to me

I’m sick
of you just fucking around
everything you people say
is said to bring me down
I’m sick
and I’m vomiting now
I’m sick
so I’m not sticking around

and I don’t like being alive
but I’m here, even if it ain’t right
I’m quiet contemplation, I’m a crippling blight
I see it on your face but I don’t care, it’s alright

this feel-good feeling feels so foreign
all these things that I adore in
side my head, and I abhore it
lay in my bed, and I ignore it
but everything that I was
is everything that I am
and just because I have grown up
does not mean that I am a man.

but I don’t owe you a goddamn thing
and I don’t have to let you hear me sing
but here I am, so you can take it or leave
but if you leave you won’t mean anything to me

none of this means anything to me.

