Answering Some Questions Anyway

by Noise Pollution

So I was nominated for a Liebster Award by Kimeecat at the Contemplations of a Twenty Something blog, but I find myself unfortunately unable to accept due to my inability to comply with a few of the conditions. The first issue was finding a spot to brandish the Liebster Award logo somewhere amongst my sparse-on-purpose blog layout, and the second issue was choosing eight other bloggers to nominate in return. Eight! Thats quite a bit for someone as introverted as I am. I’d feel comfortable nominating like, six of you at the most. That’s not to say that I don’t love each and every one of you, I just have a hard time communicating with people who I don’t speak to on a regular basis, and something like this seems like asking quite a bit of someone I don’t know very well.

I did really appreciate the nomination and the sentiment, though, so I thought I’d answer the questions posed to me anyway.

-Last thing you think before you go to sleep?

My thoughts are incredibly chaotic when I’m attempting to fall asleep. It’s why I typically need medication to fall asleep properly. To be honest, I’m usually freaking out about how I’m not asleep yet.

-What’s your favourite comfort food?

Pizza. Pizzapizzapizzapizzapizza. Pizza of all shapes and sizes, as long as there’s a lot of it.

-Favourite book/film/TV show?

My favorite book is The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. It’s the most entertaining book I’ve ever read, with poignant moments strewn throughout, almost accidentally. It’s absolutely brilliant.

My favorite film… It’s kind of a toss up, I guess. I have to admit that I don’t see a lot of movies, and I don’t exactly have a lot of context when it comes to the medium of movies in general. With that said, I think my three favorite movies are Scott Pilgrim Vs The World, 50/50 and Looper.

I was going to say that I don’t have a favorite TV show, but that’s just not true. It may not be on the air anymore, but my favorite TV show is easily Avatar: The Last Airbender. It’s ostensibly a kids show, but it goes so much deeper than any kids show should. It touches on topics like death and betrayal. It has incredibly powerful emotional moments that can resonate with anyone, of any age. It has characters that actually aren’t all that likable up front, but grow throughout the series into characters you can’t go without. If you ever have spare time on your hands and want to watch something that should be a bigger cultural touchstone than it is, please sit down and watch all three seasons of Avatar: The Last Airbender. You will have to endure the first two or three episodes of kids stuff and kind of rough voice acting, but the show really comes into its own about a third of the way into the first season, and from there, it’s a hilarious, action-packed and emotional ride that you’ll never want to end.

-What do you hope to achieve with your blog?

I don’t know, really. I hope to personally get better at writing. I hope to spread mental illness awareness. I hope to get some shit off of my chest that would just fester there otherwise. All of my followers know by now how frustrated I still am about my last breakup. I know, I know, it’s so typical, but I’m mostly writing this blog for my own sake, so it doesn’t bother me if I sound cliched occasionally.

-Is there a quote or phrase that resonates with you?

“We apologize for the inconvenience.”

God’s Last Message to His Creation from The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series

-Tea or coffee?

Neither. Cigarettes.

-Thing that never fails to make you smile?

Talking on the phone with my friends Jake and Trevor. That’s about it.

-3 things you want to try and do this year?

I’d like to learn Japanese, write 30 seconds of music every day, and read a little more.

-3 words that you think other people use to describe you?

Answering this question will expose my deep, deep lack of confidence far too openly, so I’m going to pass.

-Favourite color?

Red. For a number of reasons. Maybe one day I’ll get into it. And no, it’s not because it’s the color of blood. There’s actually a whole lot more to it than that. It’s not quite that simple.

-What was the reason for starting your blog?

I was bored. That was literally my reasoning. I know, it’s a fantastic story.

-If you could pick one fictional character to be your friend, who would it be and why?

Scott Pilgrim. We’d get along way too well. Read the graphic novels if you want to understand why. Also, read the graphic novels, they’re fantastic.

-What is the best prank you have ever played on someone else?

I can’t think of any that I’ve ever done.

-Where is the best holiday destination you have been to?

Like, on vacation? I guess I just like California a whole lot. Oh, and Oregon. Those places are great. God, I miss the west coast. It’s so dreary out here in the east.

-Are you a day person or a night owl?

Both. I’m not a morning person, though. I’m not a morning person even a little bit.

I guess if I could choose one to be, I’d be a night owl, but that would require a little more personal freedom in my life than I have right now, seeing as how I live under my parents’ roof at the moment.

-When was the last time a stranger did something genuinely nice for you?

People do little nice things for me all the time. I really appreciate the genuine “Thank you”s that I get at work. they help me get through the day.

The last really major thing I can remember though is a couple of years ago when my car broke down at one in the morning on my way home from work. My phone was dead and I was about to have a panic attack when someone pulled up. He happened to know a lot about cars and fixed my car right there on the spot. He then offered to follow me part of the way home so that he could help me if it still wasn’t functioning right, telling me I could pop my hand out of the window to let him know when to stop following me so I wouldn’t have to worry about a stranger pulling up to my house at one in the morning. So he followed me until I got one-to-two turns away from my house, I gave him the sign, and he kept on going. He helped me, and made sure I wasn’t scared, and made sure it wasn’t creepy or dangerous at all. I will never, ever, ever forget what that man did for me that day. It was an incredible act of kindness that still means the world to me, even today.

-What is your favourite home cooked meal?

My father makes these super-great white-people enchiladas. What I mean by that is that they are enchiladas in name only. They aren’t a Mexican dish in the least the way dad prepares them, but I love the way they taste.

-Do you still see yourself blogging in a years time?

Absolutely.

-What is your proudest achievement?

My three performances in front of crowds. Those three times that I played my own music in from of people were my greatest moments.

-What is your favourite way to make someone’s day?

I’m not sure. I just try to be polite, and make sure that people know that I like them. That’s really all that I can do.

And sometimes, I bring my mom home some coffee from near my work. She likes that.

