I’m a Fucking Dork

by Noise Pollution

So… I spend a lot of time on this blog writing poetry, posting videos of me playing guitar and bitching about stuff, and while all of that does capture who I am on some level, I realize that I’ve completely failed to present a pretty important facet of my personality to all of you. I am a nerd. And no, I’m not just a surface nerd who watches Doctor Who and owns a gaming PC and calls it a day. (Tangent: There’s nothing wrong with that, of course. You be you. You’re just not in that deep, and that’s fine. The concept of “nerd cred” is fucking stupid. Like what you like. Regardless of that entire statement, though, I’m going to lay my nerd cred out on the table.)

I have been playing video games since I was three years old.

My favorite video game of all time has been the same game since before I knew how to read.

There isn’t a main-series Pokemon game that I haven’t played.

I own a Wii U.

I also own a 3DS and play that shit in public.

I don’t really watch anime, but I do read visual novels, which is way, way deeper in the Japanophile/otaku hole than watching anime is.

There are multiple albums worth of video game and video game inspired music on my music-playing-device.

I regularly listen to five weekly video game podcasts, two of which always range from two to three hours long.

I play Magic: The Gathering.

Not only do I play Magic: The Gathering, but I also watch competitive events. I’m halfway through watching the semifinals in the most recent Pro Tour right now.

I listen to four weekly Magic: The Gathering podcasts. Their lengths vary wildly.

I have been to a major Magic: The Gathering event. I didn’t participate in the main event, but my brother and I played the hell out of some side events.

I aspire to play Magic: the Gathering on a competitive level someday, though I’m nowhere near good enough. Competitive decks are also incredibly expensive, ranging from 300$-700$ in some formats, and thousands of dollars in other. (Tangent: The term “format” is used to define which cards are allowed to be played in a deck. The 300$ to 700$ example is for Standard, a format which only allows you to play cards from recent sets. The other popular formats are Modern, which the most recent Pro Tour used, Legacy, which is a format that allows the playing of very old cards, and Vintage, which is like Legacy but with a less restrictive ban list. Modern decks range from 500$ to 800$ while Legacy decks can easily pass over the 1000$ mark. Let’s not even get into Vintage.If you’re both rich and a total asshole, it’s quite possible to spend well over 10000$ on a deck. I don’t fuck with that.)

I actually own a 450$ deck, and after my next check plan on expanding it further. It’ll be closer to 600$ after the changes I make to it. I’m serious about this shit.

And I think that’s it. I’m sure that there are other things I do that are incredibly nerdy, but those are the only ones I’m aware/the only ones that come to mind. Be prepared for an extensive Magic: The Gathering post in the near-future. I’ve been wanting to talk shop about it with someone for a while, and have very, very few outlets. You’ll have to bear with me.

