More Than I Do

by Noise Pollution

I saw your wings
I saw them clipped
I saw your feathers falling
I saw your lips
curl into a smile
I felt like a child
melting into bile
at your feet
it’s only seretonin
or something else
it’s a chemical reaction
inside myself
but I want to
want to
want to
want you
more than
more than
more than
I do
and I’d love to
love to
love to
love you
but I need you
to love me
more than
more than I do.

I felt your touch
for only a second
an accidental brush
of our muscle tendons
I lit your cigarette
before lighting mine
a million and one regrets
all fading with time
it’s only nicotine
and the cold air
such a simple thing
if only you weren’t there
but I want to
want to
want to
want you
more than
more than
more than
I do
and I’d love to
love to
love to
love you
but I need you
to love me
more than
more than I do.

I saw your wings
cover your scars
when you pulled them in
and over your heart

but I want to
be in love
or at least be loved
by you.

