One Time

by Noise Pollution

It doesn’t hurt
I am nothing
if not apathetic
It doesn’t work
these past three years
have made me feel pathetic
If I was smart
I would have left you before
routine set in
If you had a heart
you would have left me before
you left me for him

You say you don’t want to be like that
but you never gave me my life back
I know that we’re getting older
But god, I just want to hold her
Everything’s gotta end sometime
but I thought that maybe this one time
I don’t want to be lonely
but I don’t love nobody anymore.

and it makes sense
that it would make sense
after the glass was emptied out
onto the pavement
on the back porch
don’t try to save it
it wasn’t even half full before

and I realize
don’t you realize?
that the refraction of the light
is oh so different
without the drink
there’s something clear now
maybe I can finally think

You say you don’t want to be like that
but you swore that you would be right back
I know, I know we’re getting older
as the world warms, I’m getting colder
everything’s gotta end sometime
but I thought that maybe this one time
I don’t want to be lonely
but I don’t love nobody anymore

Don’t tell me I’ll be fine…

I’m just not a likeable guy
I’m just not a likeable man
I’m just so unlikable, darling
I see you slipping through my hands

I’m just so unlikeable, darling

You said you don’t want to be like that
But you told me that you would be right back (I’m just so unlikable, darling)
the weather, it starts to get colder
and now I can’t even hold her (I’m just so unlikable darling)
Everything’s gotta end sometime
but I thought that maybe this one time (I’m just so unlikable)
I don’t want to be lonely
but I don’t love nobody anymore.

I’m an unlikable man.

