Better Than That

by Noise Pollution

Right

there’s something like

that out there

somewhere

like

the sun at night

tired and tuned-out

turned off and replaced

by a blanket of

selected stars

the chosen few

designated by our

relentless light pollution

leaders

that are allowed

the opportunity

to shine

pale white

across a black backdrop

painted,

made of a a void,

a vacuum,

a vicious display

I cannot avoid

of the smallness

of everything.

And looking at this

I see my metaphors fail me

because you are not the stars

you are not the sky

you are not this fabled thing

you are not the sun at night.

You are simple words

that I can say easily

you are warmth,

you are comfort,

and you are, you are feasibly

the best thing

that’s happened to me

even if after all

you are not the sky

you are something I can feel

you are not the sun at night.

