Ambien Nights

by Noise Pollution

Apparently after taking my sleeping medicine last night, I had a nonsensical imaginary adventure in and around my bedroom. In my chaotic state of mind, I wrote down a description of what had happened that night. I’m going to post it here. I’m leaving in all of the typos, and I’m not correcting it at all. This reads terribly and it makes no sense at all whatsoever, but this is what I saw upon opening my laptop the next morning. Enjoy.

Last night, I came to, my face drenched in water. A moment later, my face was shoved back downwards, and my senses were dulled by water pouring everywhere. At one point, I felt free. There was no one behind me. Someone urged me on and through some doors; I was met with bright light and a place I couldn’t recognize short of a vague sense that this was something I used to know. A few stumbly steps later (I was blinded by the light, it seems to have been to much for me) and I was in a bathroom. My bathroom. What was going on? Where was I, and what were these people doing here? I couldn’t tell you, but I could tell you that making it back to the previous room from the bathroom tooko a considerable nnumber of tries. As my lives counter neared zero, I opened the door, fell onto what appeared to be my own bed and let blackness fill my vision. I don’t know if I was posoned, or if I was just exaughsted, but my body clearly couldn’t take another step. someone would explain to me what was happening, eventually right? When vision filled my eyes again, I was surrounded by small fluffy animals. there was music playing; I was dressed in red. Everything seemed to be going spectacularly. Considering the disaster that I had felt just prior to this, this was dowbright incredible. I turned to ask a question of the fluffy beings beside me, and they immedately scurry away. They scurry far, far away, and when they’re gone, I can’t even recall an image of them any longer, let alone what they looked like. My bed is covered in nothing but pillows now. But that should satisfy. It satisfys me, It shuld satisfy the king. I am the king passes through my head as a close my eyes again. I was recieiving letters from my suppoters at all hours of the day. It was incredible. I had never felt true confidencelike this before, knowing that I was doing the right thing… whatever that was. What eactly have I accomplished since then? And as that thought passed through my head, I was overcome. Had I been poisoned? the coughs would not stop coming out. My subjects acted as though nothing was going on. Treasonous bastards! I coughed and coughed until I realized the severity of the situation, making it for the door to my kingdom and diving for the wrld outside. That was wasn’t eactly in great shape, but I didn”t have time to dwell on it. I made it to the one room that truly stood out from every other part of this night, and coughed until a relentless torrent of vomit gushed out of my mouth into the toilet below. I wasn’t missing, at least. The subjects around me were nodding in approval. I don’t know why. I felt like I was losing something, so sort of attachemnt to this world. The next one didn’t come as easily. I gagged on it’s way up, giving me a small window of time where I couldn’t breathe at all. Then when I could, the burning sensation was instense and extreme. ALl of my subjects had left, there seemed to be only one other person with me. He helped me get the rest of it out, then he was gone too. I was in my bathroom. The one four steps down the hallway from my room. I was half wearing a blanket over myself, but in an attempt to look regal, I wasn’t even really covering the essentials, there. It was okay, though, no one was awake. I got up, left the bathroom, realizing that this stumbling was not the result of poisoning, but probably the result of my sleeping medication. I was in a dirty halway that really needed to clean up. So yeah, not a place that was in great shape, I guess. I opened to dorr to my room. nothing weird here, which was the weirdest thing of all. My pillows were scattered around my bed in a strage way, but otherwise, it was almoost ready for me to try again. Maybe this time I’d stay asleep.

I did manage to seee everyone one last time as I drifted off. They were… having a barbeque, I think.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.rbjlhrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr                                  wzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzZa”

I fell asleep at the keyboard, apparently. I must have woken up again and put it away, because it wasn’t open when I woke up for the day. I have no idea if I actually threw up or not. Knowing myself, I probably did.

By the way, I normally don’t get side effects like this on Ambien. Normally I sleep soundly through the night. This was a freak occurrence, so if you’re worried about my safety in regards to this medication, don’t. Ambien and I go very well together, and I am oddly responsible with it, considering my drug history an its potential for abuse.

Anyways, here is my observation of the events of that night, as told by a sane and sober person.

“I woke up, and I was drenched with sweat. I was wobbly from my medication, so I fell back onto my pillow, which was also drenched. Gross. I wish I could do something about that. I had to pee, and that knowledge was accompanied by a vague inclination that I should leave my room anyway. I did, and stumbled down the hallway, nearly slamming myself into all sorts of walls and counters in the process. I may have also been stark naked throughout all of this. I peed, and then tried to make it back to my bedroom, but it was much, much harder this time. I was having so much difficulty walking that I eventually began to crawl. When I made it to my door, I pulled myself up by the handle and let myself in, and immediately lost my balance and fell onto the bed. At this point, I may have fallen back asleep for a small period of time. When I awoke again, I was surrounded by my pillows and covered by my brown, not red, blanket. I felt an intense amount of confidence in my delirium, a well-known side effect of taking Ambien. I then started having one of my coughing fits. I’ve been having them for months now, and I really need to see a doctor, but I keep putting it off. This coughing fit was particularly bad, and it triggered my overly-sensitive gag reflex, causing me to rush to the bathroom where I let out huge amounts of half-digested microwavable meals. Gross. Since I was already vomiting, I figured I might as well go all the way with it instead half-assing it and leaving myself with a vague sick feeling for the rest of the night. I forced out some more, but it didn’t come all the way out, so instead I started choking on the burning air of acid-reflux. That sucked. Eventually I did finish puking, though. I slowly become more conscious of reality at this point, and realized that while I was covered up by my blanket, I hadn’t really bothered to actually cover up. I was essentially tripping all over myself and puking whilst completely naked in the upstairs of my house. Weird. I went back to my room and laid down and went back to sleep, waking up another time to attempt to document these events, but failing in a hilarious manner.”

