This Is Still True Love

by Noise Pollution

She said
“Come get high with me
we can smoke until the room is thick
with air we cannot breathe
Come get high with me
And I will love you for an hour
But I can’t promise anything.”

And I
believe in drugs and alcohol.

I think I saw your face
when I fell asleep
in my fuckin’ bathtub.
All this time, erased
I turn the shower on
and close my eyes.

And I
believe in drugs and alcohol.

I swear she said,
“Come get high with me
We will drink until we’re friends
with all our greatest enemies
Come get high with me
and I will love you for an hour
but for that hour, endlessly.”

I came to in the yard
And I was trying not
to vomit out the poison
They say I try too hard
but the coughing has to stop
and it’s my motherfucking choice and
you can’t judge me
if you can see anything
past the next two weeks
of agony

So what if I
believe in drugs and alcohol
I will forever
believe in drugs and alcohol

So will you
come get high with me?
I love you so much sober,
but I can’t tell you while I still think
come get high with me
I will love you for forever
even if you don’t love me
but won’t you at least…
Come get high with me
There’s a million conversations
we can have before you leave
Come get high with me
And I will make you happy
for fucking eternity

I saw your face
as I fell asleep
on your floor.

That’s why I
believe in drugs and alcohol.

