An Apology

by Noise Pollution

I’ve only got so much in me
That I can say I’m sorry
So I’m not sorry now

I’ve only got so much time
That I can say I’m sorry
But I’m not sorry now

And maybe I’ll drown
In the lake by your house
Or maybe I’ll drown
In the river
But I don’t think that I will die
In quite the way that I want
I’m afraid, and it’s all that I am
Sometimes

I’ve only got so many words
To try to say that I’m sorry
But I won’t say I’m sorry now

I’ve only really got today
To tell you that I’m sorry
But I can’t say I’m sorry now

And maybe I’ll fall
From the tree in your backyard
And maybe I’ll fall
From your rooftop
But I don’t think that I’ll die
In quite the way that I want
I’m afraid, and that’s all that I am
Sometimes

I have scrawled
Out on my bedroom wall
If you’d maybe indulge me
“I don’t know if it’s what I want
But I can’t seem to go on
So I’m sorry for what I
Should be sorry for.
I hope you’ll forgive me
For whatever I must be forgiven for.”
But I trust that you’ll never see
So as of now, I’m not really sorry

