Calm Me Down

by Noise Pollution

We’re not the same
In spite of everything you say
There is this monster inside
And it won’t go the fuck away
And it takes
And it takes and takes and take
It takes all my words away
Until there’s nothing left to say

And my eyes
They tell lies
They tell everyone I’m fine
But I’m in the bathroom
Shaking miserably
And holding myself tight
I’ve locked the door
Lay on the floor
I can’t take it anymore
Every word that I spit out
Fills my mind with more self-doubt
I’m sick of everything
And everyone
I’ve never had fun.

It hurts when you’re around
Or when anyone’s around
I’m so scared there ain’t nobody
Who will ever calm me down
I’m so fucking scared of me
So goddamn self-aware of me
And all of these nightmares of me
Are who I am

And my eyes
They tell lies
They tell everyone I’m fine
But I’m in my bedroom
Shaking miserably
And holding myself tight
I’ve locked the door
Lay on the floor
I can’t take it anymore
Every word that I spit out
Fills me with more self doubt
But I hang around
I hope you can calm me down.

