Sorry About That

by Noise Pollution

Sorry about the relative silence lately; I know this is a lame excuse, but I’ve actually been busy.

Not like, super busy, if I’m being honest.

I mean, I’ve only been working two days a week for the last month or so. So any inactivity prior to this last week was just me being fucking lazy.

But I’ve had company over! My two best friends from where I used to live came and visited, and it’s been rad. All that chemistry we had before; it’s still there. There are a few more silences than before, and they’re absolutely not comfortable silences by any stretch of the imagination, but they’re generally been caused by being awake at ungodly hours or being just the wrong amount of drunk.

Look, there’s kind of a “golden land” when it comes to drunkenness. It comes when you’re a bit drunker than buzzed; it’s right past the cusp of the level where if someone asked you, you’d say you were drunk. Being any less than that is either irritating or boring, being any more than that is a fucking commitment, and there’s a couple of other spots along the way that you don’t exactly want to hang around, either.

For me, this came shortly after hitting that “golden land”, eventually the buzz started to go away and I wound up in a rough spot where I felt too drunk to think but not drunk enough to act without thinking. It’s kind of a shit place to be.

Aside from those few moments though, this visit was not only fun, but productive. My dream of being… of being some guy on the internet who doesn’t work a real job is actually shared by these guys. Also, a while back, when I was still living out there, we invested some time and energy into a longboard-making company that never went anywhere. I mean, for one thing, I fucking left the state, though I was never really a central figure in all that anyway. I was just along for the ride. All I really did was come up with the concept for the logo, which was later expanded upon by my buddy’s wife, who is far more talented than myself. I was kind of an ideas man, which isn’t incredibly helpful. But when I left, things didn’t progress much further. But, ah, anyway, we have all these ideas for this brand, and we decided that we were going to invest all that wasted energy into a new project: We’re going to make a goddamn internet content studio.

This post isn’t an announcement, don’t take it as one. I just kind of wanted to chat about it a bit. Even if this does happen and becomes a super legitimate thing, I don’t think I’m going to attach this blog to it. I don’t think things are going to change for My Thoughts Are Pollution. I mean, who knows, but this has always been kind of a sacred place for me.

It’s all very formative and could very well fizzle at any time, but we’ve got some good ideas, a good brand, and some good fucking chemistry. I wouldn’t be surprised if we managed to make something real out of all this. I’m being serious here; I might actually get to do one of the things I dream of.

I don’t know whether or not I should share the name, or any of the ideas at this point. I kind of don’t want to yet; for one thing, this is still little more than a google doc filled with brainstorming. For another thing, I don’t want any of these ideas stolen, you know? Not that I don’t trust my readership or anything, but if this shit does happen to fizzle out, I’d like to still be able to come back to these ideas and reuse them. If I talk about doing something cool and then end up not doing it; someone might take that as an O.K. to do it themselves. And it probably would be okay. I wouldn’t get mad. But I’m going to avoid that whole scenario by only talking in vagaries.

I just wanted to mention that there’s some amount of hope on the horizon. Finally. These guys have always done that for me. They’ve made me not fear the future. I missed them a whole fucking lot.

