From This Place

by Noise Pollution

I have to admit
That my sad shit
Worries are all based on something real
That maybe the world isn’t only what I feel

And I can see you
Waiting there for me
Your hand outstretched
Over everything
I can’t see the horizon
Through these trees
I can’t see the sun rising
Through these leaves
I can’t keep on disguising
Everything
Underneath the cover
Of the birds and raging bees.

Won’t you take me away?
That’s really all I can say
I must admit that I may
Have unbearably high
Expectations considering
What I look like
And what I’ve been doing for three years.
Won’t you take me away?
From this every day
But I know you can’t save
Much of anyone
I’m tired of assuming
I know the way
That people are when they are not right here.

Oh, I can’t see this mountain
from the top
And I can’t see the valley
Through the wall of rock
And though I know just
What I’m not
It’s not enough to save me
From this wall of thought

And I tell myself I’m not
I tell myself I’m not

I can’t see the horizon
Through these trees
Can’t see the sun rising
Through all of these leaves
I can’t keep on disguising
Everything
Underneath the cover
Of the birds and raging bees.

