Not That Bad

by Noise Pollution

[Italics are there to represent another person singing. This song does not work unless it is a duet of sorts.]

I’m counting all the promises
That I have ever made
’cause if I haven’t broken them
I know I will someday.
All I’ve got to do is swim
But all I do is sink
So instead of trying, diving in
I stay up here and think

Darling, don’t you see?
You are better off
With anyone but me.

It’s really not that bad
(I will hold you back)
It’s really not that bad
(with all the things I lack)
I will hear you say
(It’s never going to be okay)
after all
You’re only human
and after all
I am too
after all
What are you doin’?
’cause after all
I love you.

My love, I’m trying everything
But I just can’t seem to change
And even though you say to me
That I can stay the same
I’m scared to death of being me
Of always being sad
But all those things I used to be
Are almost just as bad

Darling, you should go
I’m farther gone than
You could ever know.

It’s really not that bad
(I will hold you back)
It’s really not that bad
(with all the things I lack)
I swear I will stay
It doesn’t have to be okay
’cause after all
You’re only human
’cause after all
I am too
’cause after all
What are you doin’?
’cause after all
I still love you.

I know I haven’t tried that hard
But you’re so close
And I’ve got to go so far
Please, go anywhere
And maybe someday
Soon I’ll meet you there

’cause after all
There’s not a reason
After all
That you have to keep me breathin’
And after all
Hearts change with the seasons
And after all
I cannot keep believin’
In you.

It is that bad
(won’t you please come back?)
It is that bad
(I will become the things I lack)
I tried so hard to say
It doesn’t have to be okay
’cause in the end
I guess you’re fallible
And though I try
There’s only so much I can do
There’s so little time
And all of it is valuable
And I’ve spent
Enough on you

